House of Terror, Budapest
Built in 1882 by Adolf Feszty, the building located at Andrássy Street 60 is a memento of the fascist and communist dictatorships in Hungary. The national socialist Arrow Cross Party rented rooms in the house from 1937 and by 1944 the complete first floor was in their hands. After they have seized the power with a coup d'état, the fascists tortured and murdered many people in the basement of Andrássy út 60.
After the war, the building was owned by the communist regime and it was used as the headquarters of the State Protection Authority (ÁVH). By 1951 the house proved too small for the secret police, and the prison system of the basement was expanded. It was used as the site for their brutal interrogations until 1956 when the agency was abolished. Thereafter all traces of the horrors were covered up.
In 2001, the building was completely renovated, and next year, the House of Terror Museum was opened. The exhibition uses modern technology, video installations and an original soundtrack to showcase the history of the buildings and the dictatorships that used it.
Official site: www.terrorhaza.hu